Word Nerd: Ichabod Crane Style

comic-books-Sleepy-Hollow
I love the TV series “Sleepy Hollow.” Admittedly, I started on this a year late but I made up by having a marathon of the show, finishing the first season over one weekend. It has a lot of things in it that’s keeping me on my toes. One of those things is that it has the supernatural theme to it. The pilot episode, with the headless horseman, the demon and the sudden onslaught of unexplainable creepy incidents in Sleepy Hollow, were enough to convert me to being a fan.

Aside from the plot, I also appreciate the cleverly drawn out lines between Ichabod Crane and Abbie Mills (the show’s protagonists). In one episode called “Midnight Ride”, the two visited a museum and Ichabod was indignant when he learned that people today pay for drinking water. But the best line given, one I found so hilarious I just laughed out loud all to myself, was by Crane:

* A highly acclaimed dentist. The man was a silversmith. That’s the last person you want poking around in your mouth.

Being the word nerd that I am, I listed down some of the words that Ichabod Crane used because, yeah, it’s fun. As lame as it may sound, I did take the time to write them down.

  • apocryphal – of doubtful authenticity : spurious
  • salacious – arousing or appealing to sexual desire or imagination
  • imminent – ready to take place; especially : hanging threateningly over one’s head
  • veracity – truth or accuracy : the quality of being truthful or honest
  • purveyors – a person or business that sells or provides something
  • furlough – a period of time when a soldier is allowed to leave the place where he or she is stationed

I had to stop myself from writing down every damn word that caught my fancy. Words are beautiful and when uttered by Tom Mison (who plays Ichabod Crane), I try not to drool.

* In the quote above, Ichabod Crane was referring to Paul Revere.

One thought on “Word Nerd: Ichabod Crane Style

Yes, you can speak up.

