Moodboard Mondays: Inspiration

mixed_matched

The small surprises can be the best ones. Even though life can sometimes feel a little bit too much, there is always something to be thankful for. Over the weekend, I’ve realized that I should stop moaning and groaning about the things that I lack. It may just be the weather those days but I have reminded myself to be more thankful for what I have and work on things that I know would eventually get me from Point A to Point B. I mean, I’m not going to wake up one day and just have my dreams handed over to me while I just sit there not doing anything, something.

But if at the end you find the person you’ve become is not the person you want to be… you can always turn around and try again. And maybe the next time you won’t be so alone when it’s over. – “Gossip Girl”

Beauty is more than skin-deep.

In the midst of re-watching some “Gossip Girl” episode from seasons 1 and 5 and reading a handful of fashion blogs, it’s so easy to take a look in the mirror and dislike what I see. Face too small and pale. Eyebags? Check. (Ugh!) And where is my flawless skin? Whatever happened to that perfect messy waves? (My hair now resembles a mop, one that has been used way too many times.) The thing is this: It’s very convenient to get caught up in that shiny, luxe life that they represent through frames and photos. But how about instead of noticing the wrong things in you, you try to become a better version of yourself instead? Count thy blessings and maximize your potential. And that is not just about the physical appearance. Personally, I always seem to look decent enough when I’m happy from within. So do what makes you happy and the rest of the good things will follow.

Make it a point to create something.

I have been in this… place (for the lack of a better word) where I feel like I should be writing or at least doing something. I’d get sparks of ideas and the urge to write down scenes that are suddenly playing in my head but then… Pffft! I don’t. And I know this is something only I could change. So I did. I took baby steps. I know I cannot churn out 500 words per day and I don’t want to fool myself into thinking I could. (At this point in my life, I really couldn’t bring myself to write as much as I used to.) What I did was I threw out the window that “write 500 words per day” mantra. Instead, I picked up my trusty black gel pen and plucked one of the notebooks I hoard keep and just started writing. No word count goals, no pressure. Shut out the world around me. Get lost in my story. Just write. From my head to the paper. And surprise, surprise! I managed to write more than I thought I could.

Strive to always be inspired.

I’m pretty sure anyone and everyone can relate to this: I need something to keep me going. No, not in the form of a writer’s muse. Not this time. It can be anything or anyone that gives me a fresh bolt of inspiration, be it a great web design, lyrics of a song or even a collage or a fashion/bedroom set in Polyvore.

Fall in love and be in love.

Be in love to feel alive. When we are in love with someone or in love with our craft or what we do, living becomes more tolerable, if not easier. There is no contest there: Life is much better when you welcome the positive things in life. And aside from a quick wit and good sense of humor, what better way to live life than knowing that someone or something is what keeps you going, even through the most mundane of tasks? Heck, even riding the jeepney on the way home feels a lot better when you have love in you and you are well aware of how lucky your are because of that.

Yes, you can speak up.

