Ooh! October!

vintage_suitcaseWith September nearing its end, I cannot contain my optimism and excitement for October. After all, it is that time of the year where my favorite day takes place: Halloween. And while I was busy dreaming up all the scary goodness that October has to offer, I kind of overlooked the fact that it also means that another exciting event (in my book, anyway) is getting closer, too. And that event is none other than NaNoWriMo. Admittedly, I have been joining the past two years but never achieved the 50 thousand words needed. Heck, I did not even make half of it. But I refuse to let that dampen my spirit.

For the longest time, I wanted to write a complete story that’s centered on the supernatural. While I do love the chilling kind of horror, it’s not what I had in mind. I wanted my story to contain supernatural elements but with witty dialogues and quirky characters. And romance, of course. Nothing too sappy, though. I was thinking something along the lines of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and “Sleepy Hollow.” With that said, I thought I was on to something when I wrote “That Night at Senechal’s” in my other (writing) blog. In fact, I plan to do another part for that bit of fiction. The aftermath of that fateful sip in Senechal’s Pub & Bar. I was hoping the ending of that one surprised the readers.

I know some writers are known to use websites like Pinterest to help them form their story. I love Pinterest (sidenote: Shameless plugging to follow my pins here.) but right now, music is more appealing to me. (Watch me change my mind a few hours later.) With that said, I have this quite eclectic playlist that puts me in the mood for writing. Or deep thinking. Or wallowing in self-pity. Here, let me share it with you:

4 thoughts on “Ooh! October!

    1. I keep forgetting, too! But then after digesting one of their emails, that’s when it hit me: Oh, dear. NaNoWriMo is near. You should join! 🙂 It’s worth it. I never actually finished a novel when I joined but it was a good experience. I hope to see you there this year. 🙂

      Like

Yes, you can speak up.

