NaNoWriMo 2014 Prep: My Survival Kit

storytelling_is_serious_business

Last year, I dove headlong into NaNoWriMo. This year, I think I’ll tweak my approach a little. I want to actually get some planning done. Nothing too detailed, though. For some odd reasons, I lose some of my eagerness when I try to outline the details or scenarios. I struggle when I try to plan on my stories. Most times, I just write, write, write. I’ll have a scenario in my head and I’ll build my characters around it. Then it takes off from there. It’s not a smooth path but it works for me. So that’s what I want to do this October: Get to know my characters more deeply, navigate my way around the world I have created, maybe do some research on paranormal creatures and folklores, etc. In that way, it’ll help me in lessening my stumbles and fumbles when the time comes for the actual novel writing.

A fellow book geek and NaNoWriMo participant, Amanda, wrote a post about her survival kit for this year. Her list was good and entertaining. I especially loved her choice of notebooks AND that dancing gif for her sixth item, “Tunes.” I have noticed other participants with this type of post so I thought I’d take my cue from them and come up with mine and now is a good time as any.

  1. coffee (but of course!)
  2. notebooks & pens
  3. creative inspirations in the forms of blog posts and/or articles
  4. playing “The Sims 3” or “Sim City”
  5. other books to read
  6. browsing the bookstore during lunch hour at work
  7. chocolates

I included “The Sims 3” and “Sim City” because in-between work, personal errands and spitting out 1,667 words daily, I’ll need some breather. Playing computer games helps me unwind and keeps me entertained for hours. (I promise not to get too lost in playing them that I forget I have a novel to write, though.)

Are you also planning to join NaNoWriMo this year? If not, you should! It’s really fun and it’s a great way to get a novel started. Feel free to add me to your buddy list by clicking this link. Also, I’d love to know what’s on your survival kit.

* Note: The quote in the image above is from Chuck Wendig. I found it here.

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014 Prep: My Survival Kit

    1. Phone games! I love “Dumb Ways to Die” and I know it’s silly but I get a kick out of it. (And I get frustrated sometimes, too. Sshh, don’t tell anyone.)

      Like

    1. “Refuel” — I like that word. Yes, taking breaks is crucial to help us recharge. When we get back to writing after those breaks, it feels like everything is fresh. Suddenly, those moments of not knowing what to write next or how to approach the next scene is suddenly wiped out. 🙂

      Like

Yes, you can speak up.

