90s, I Do Love You

During my commute back home yesterday, the radio was playing a stream of 90s songs: “Bye Bye Bye” by N’Sync, “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)” by — you guess it! — Backstreet Boys, “Head Over Feet” by Alanis Morissette, et cetera. As I stared out the window, thoughts flying and leaping from various thing to various thing, the songs suddenly reeled me in and I was transported back to those days when I was still a teen-ager. Not that my sense of style now is fashion magazine worthy (Puh-leeze! Nowhere near it, even.) but those days, I sported a short bob that grazed my nearly non-existent chin and small face, a pair of baggy jeans, a nondescript t-shirt, and the usual Skechers sneakers or a clunky pair of Doc Martens. Sometimes, I opted for the Birkenstock sandals I owned. With white socks. *pause* Let that image sink into your mind. I was in dire need of a good fashion  sense but I didn’t care. I was comfortable in so many ways.

The 90s was a good era for me. True, I was this silently suffering teen-ager who was neither feminine nor graceful but it was FUN. And looking back now, in the eyes and mind of a 32 year-old (holy shit, I’m ANCIENT), I think it’s a good time in my life. Never mind that I had my heart broken for the first time or that I thought I was doomed to fail Math and the sky will simply fall on my head and everything would be obliterated. Never mind those things because in hindsight, I had so much great things going on for me. And in honor of the era that was fun and good, here’s a quick list of what highlighted the 90s. Or my 90s in this corner of the world, at least.

CABOODLES

Great colors. Great for organizing. (Yeah, I loved organizing my stuff even way back when.)

caboodles_01

TAMAGOTCHI

In the middle of class, you’d casually sneak a peek at it and, if you can get away with it, you’d feed your pet because otherwise? It would die and that’s just a heartbreak you can’t let happen.

tamagotchi

TRAPPER KEEPER

Another fun stuff for organizing school notes, doodles, and love letters.

trapper_keeper

LISA FRANK FOLDERS

Ahhh! The colors! They are so… dazzling and magical. I think everyone (if not most girls) in our school went crazy for this. We just HAD TO OWN AT LEAST ONE.

lisa_frank

SLAP BRACELETS

Snap! It’s crazy cool. The louder and more colorful the designs, the better and cooler you seem to the other kids.

slap_bracelets

G-SHOCK/BABY-G WATCHES

This one was a bit expensive but like the Lisa Frank stuff, you just gotta own one.

g-shock

ROLLERBLADES

Feel the rush of gliding along the street or in your house’s floors (ignore Mom or Dad screaming). Yes, feel the rush but not before stumbling and falling on your own two feet when just starting out. Fun, fun, fun!

rollerblade

DISCMAN

I used to get all sorts of feels just listening to this. MP3? What MP3? Spotify, you say? Nope. This was cool back then.

discman

KOOSH BALLS

Okay. I think this was a craze only because it’s squishy and cute. It’s addictive to play with, though. I remember we used to bounce it on our knees, our elbows, the backs of our hands, our feet just to see who’s the best with the koosh ball. Other times, we’d just throw it at each other for no reason at all. Fun times! Good times!

koosh_ball

WHOPPERS

I remember eating a box of this in one sitting when I was 12 or 13. I never regretted that. I regretted watching the creepy, scary show, “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” all alone while eating Whoppers, though.

whoppers

CAPN’ CRUNCH PEANUT BUTTER CEREALS

My favorite cereal that time!

capn_crunch_peanut_butter

CASIO DIGITAL DIARY

I fell in love with technology because of this. I was so awed and enamored by it that it had its regular spot in my bed and I couldn’t keep away from it for a couple of weeks.

casio_digital_diary

JONATHAN TAYLOR THOMAS

Ahhh… The reason why I kept buying Bop and Tiger Beat and such. Jonathan Taylor Thomas surrounded my bedroom walls with my collection of his pin-ups.

jtt

BOYBANDS

Westlife
Westlife
Boyzone
Boyzone
5ive
5ive
Code Red
Code Red
Backstreet Boys
Backstreet Boys
Hanson
Hanson
N'Sync
N’Sync
98 Degrees
98 Degrees

“ARE YOU AFRAID OF THE DARK?” (TV show)

And that, folks, is the end of our trip down to memory lane. What are your favorite things and memories from the 90s?

5 thoughts on “90s, I Do Love You

Yes, you can speak up.

