Rituals of a Non-Morning Person

the_night

There is not a day that goes by that I do not hit the snooze button in my phone’s alarm clock. In fact, I barely made it to the office on time today. Not that it’s anything to be proud of but there you go. The thing is this: I am not a morning person. I doubt I ever will be. When it’s time for me to wake up, I do (after hitting the snooze button twice or thrice). I go through the usual: Drag my feet across the room, take a shower, get dressed, brush my teeth, comb my hair, grab my bag, and head out the door. Sometimes, I go back to the house because I forget that I am still wearing my slippers. I long ago ditched putting on contact lenses and make-up because I wanted to maximize my sleep hours and just get up and go.

Since mornings were never my thing (I don’t think it will ever be), I focus more consciousness and effort on the hour or two I have before I sleep. I know others do this, too. Some practice yoga before bedtime, which helps them relax. Others have a cup of tea and curl up with a book or watch TV. Little old me does the following, in order:

1. Take a bath, shower, whatever.

bath

2. Either write or read.

write

read

* Note: Item #2 can be accompanied by drink of choice, usually milk chocolate, sometimes a bottle of softdrink but never coffee.

drink

I have trouble falling asleep sometimes, even after reading or writing for an hour. Instead, I let my head hit the pillow, close my eyes and then try to go over the different scenarios that I could add to whatever story I am currently working on. That helps, too. Before I know it, I am off to dreamland, running after unfamiliar faces and setting foot on malls that I have never been to before. Sometimes, the dreams are scary but hey, that helps me wake up earlier than usual.

wake_up

Yes, you can speak up.

