Books I Want to Read

The month of May had been prolific in terms of reading. I don’t know where I got the time or energy, but I managed to read the following:

  1. Divergent” trilogy – Veronica Roth
  2. Four: A Divergent Collection” – Veronica Roth
  3. Sharp Objects” – Gillian Flynn
  4. Along Came A Demon” – Linda Welch
  5. Simone” – Riley J. Ford
  6. Misplaced Love” – Lily Zante
  7. Floor Four” – A. Lopez, Jr.
  8. Pinehurst” – Nicole Grane
  9. Possess” – J.A Howell
  10. Just A Little Terrible” – Vincent V. Cava
  11. The Anguisher Creature” – Nathan Kuzack
  12. Beyond Anabel: Meghan Defined” – Amanda Lynch

Out of all the 14 books (most of them e-books, thanks to Betty Book Freak), my favorite is the “Divergent” trilogy, even though it took me weeks to move on and get over it. True story. I also really liked both “Possess” and “Misplaced Love.” The former is horror and the latter is romance (with wit thrown in). “The Anguisher Creature” was pretty remarkable, too. I felt sorry for the main character. I think that’s what made the book memorable: Its characters. You think you know them and their motivations but they say or do something and uh-oh! You think twice about who’s nice and who’s not.

June is here and so far, I have finished only four. My TBR pile is, well, piling up. However, here are a few books I would love to get my hands on right away:

ASYLUM

asylum_madeleine_roux

In a summer program, 16 year-old Dan Crawford learns that his dorm house used to be an asylum. Spooky, right? And exciting. With his new friends Abby and Jordan, the three of them explore the place and soon learns about its terrifying past. What that is, I sure want to know. Added bonus: There are pictures within the pages. A copy of this book? OH YES, PLEASE.

THE HAUNTING OF SUNSHINE GIRL

haunting_of_sunshine_girl_paige_mckenzie

This one started off as a YouTube series, which I found entertaining a just a little creepy. (Although I just started so there may be more spooky scenes that I don’t know about just yet.) This book is all about a teen-ager who moves into a new house with her mom. She thinks their new house is haunted and is determined to prove it.

Something freaky’s going on with Sunshine’s new house . . . there’s the chill that wraps itself around her bones, the giggling she can hear in the dead of night, and then the strange shadows that lurk in her photographs. But the more weird stuff that happens, the less her mum believes her. Sunshine’s always had a quirky affiliation with the past, but this time, history is getting much too close for comfort . . . – The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

HOUSE OF LEAVES

house_of_leaves_mark_danielewski

This one I want to read solely because of its oddness, its quirkiness. It’s hard to find here where I live but I came across it in a local bookstore that’s about 45 minutes away from my place. It’s not a cheap book but I have the feeling I might just buy it anyway. Here’s what Good Reads says about it:

Now, for the first time, this astonishing novel is made available in book form, complete with the original colored words, vertical footnotes, and newly added second and third appendices.

The story remains unchanged, focusing on a young family that moves into a small home on Ash Tree Lane where they discover something is terribly wrong: their house is bigger on the inside than it is on the outside.

* * *

Right now, these are the books I want to read the most. A good friend of mine (Hi, Jammi!) told me she’d lend me her “Hunger Games” books and I’m looking forward to reading that as well. I have watched the movie but it would be fun reading the book, too. Reading the books of those movies it was from is usually fun, comparing notes and all.

2 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read

Yes, you can speak up.

