The Top 5 Things I Wouldn’t Do to My Books

reading

There are books you randomly pick out and then realize you’ve fallen in love with it — the plot, the characters, the setting, everything. Then there are books you see everyone raving about and you go buy it, only to want to chuck it out the window by the time you’re through with it. (Or maybe you’re only halfway done when you decide to chuck it, anyway.) But those are your books. You picked them, you paid for them, you own them. They are yours, for better or for worse (until someone comes along and you decide to give away those books you realize you don’t like anymore / you didn’t like after the first couple of pages). The question is: What do you do with all these books? Followed by another question: What wouldn’t you do to your books? I know I wouldn’t do these, even if the book appalled me:

HIGHLIGHT SOME TEXTS

Maybe it’s just me, but I want my book to be as pristine as it was the day I bought/received them. *pause* Yeah, okay. It’s probably just me.

FOLD A CORNER OF A PAGE AS A BOOKMARK

NO. Just… no. It’s like giving the book a scar or something. I know how dramatic that sounds but there you go. Not a fold, not even a teeny tiny crease on any of its pages. Books are sacred, all right?

LEND THEM TO SOMEONE WHO DOESN’T LOVE BOOKS

I have long given up in trying to keep track of how many books I have “lost” because they were never returned to me. As a result, I am more careful of who borrows my books.

STUFF THEM INSIDE MY BAG

I worry about it getting smooshed or bent (misshapen?), so I just carry them by hand. Never mind that I’m in the mall, walking around and around. Better safe than sorry. I don’t want that book looking mangled when I whip it out of my bag hours later.

PLACE THEM ANYWHERE, ESPECIALLY THE GROUND, EVEN FOR AN INSTAGRAM PHOTO

Not gonna lie: I did that a few times over here. You should’ve seen me before and after taking that picture.

The before: Me staring at the ground, fidgety and really uncomfortable. If I lay it down there on the pavement, some debris might scratch it. So I fidget around some more.

The after: I scoop up the book, frantically dusting off any and all dirt (real or imaginary). For good measure, I wipe the book clean. That was the last time I took photos of my books lying on the ground, be it outside on a pavement or on the floor of my room.


What about you? What sort of quirks do you have when it comes to your books?

6 thoughts on “The Top 5 Things I Wouldn’t Do to My Books

  1. Omg I love this hahaha.. Sounds like you’re quite overprotective of your precious books 😉 My pet peeve is people who use books as little saucers. Like why would you do that. I’m a writer myself btw- I’ve followed, and would be honoured to hear your thoughts on some of my works on my blog. Keep writing and have a good day 🙂

    Like

  2. I do dog-ear books, usually older ones from the library, and I have a purse that’s actually a tote bag so I can easily carry my books around. But I would never lend a book to someone who is not a book person, even if they are a neat-nik. They also tend to not return books in a timely manner.
    BTW, I’m visiting via your comment on Rebel MommyBook Blog. I often find new friends through the comments, just like her post said. HAHA

    Like

    1. Hi, Elizabeth! 😁 That’s true. I learned too late about lending my books to people who aren’t exactly book lovers. I was hoping that they’ll love the book and have great takeaways from reading it. 😄 Rebel Mommy Blog nailed it, because I find new friends and fellow bloggers and book lovers via comments, too. Haha! 😁

      Like

  3. Bwhaha ALL OF THESE! Yes yes yes! When I was coming back from BEA, it absolutely pained me to have to pack the books. And yes, a few corners DID get bent, and I am still not over it 😉 I also don’t read with the dust jacket on, because I did once and my bookmark bent the edge of the DJ! There is also NO eating or drinking around the books. Also- I did the same thing the one time I tried bookstagram in the grass. It was full on panic mode! This is so fun- and TRUE!

    Like

Yes, you can speak up.

