Book Characters + “1989” Album

you_know_i_love_the_players

Scent evokes memories, promptly stirring up musings and thoughts about things and people and places that we haven’t thought about for months or years. I can say the same thing about music. How many times have I waddled through life, clutching and grasping at songs I can relate to, if not songs whose beat and melody I find beautiful (or fun, in case of songs from Ne-yo and Chris Brown)? I would be listening to a random song on the radio or someone else’s party and, without sensing it coming, BAM! There goes that line of a song, connecting with you. Some Taylor Swift songs are like that for me. And because I have been posting about writing and reading books recently, I thought I could do the same thing that Tina, the Bookworm has done. Except this time, I’ll only pick ones from Taylor Swift’s “1989” album only and pair some lyrics with book characters. Here it goes:

I’m dancing on my own
I make the moves up as I go
That’s what they don’t know

shake_it_off

Yeah, sometimes most times in life, you just gotta wing it. My book pick for this is Lisa Lutz’s Spellman books. Isabel Spellman, the main character of this book series, is hilarious. She’s witty and sharp, too, once you get past her sarcasm and wise-ass cracks. She doesn’t feel the need to justify herself, never mind that she is far from lovable and cuddly. Trouble is her middle name but she’s always managed to turn things around in her favor.

Saw you there and I thought
Oh my God, look at that face
You look like my next mistake
Love’s a game, wanna play?

oh_my_god_sean_o_pry

I think Serena van der Woodsen from the “Gossip Girl” series fits this one well, really well. Serena is an It Girl residing in a posh place in New York and studies in an all-girls private school called Constance. Girls either want to be her or want to kill her (okay, “kill” is too much but you get the idea). Guys fall in love with her. She gets away with mostly everything. And she’s not even mean; she’s actually nice. You know what happens to girls like that: They become the object of both obsession and envy. And we all know that nothing good can come out of either one, especially all those nasty rumors which could end up twisting how others see you and before you know it… BOOM! Who they think you are and who you really are? Totally different. (P.S. I still can’t get over how gorgeous that “Blank Space” guy is. Sssh.)

You keep his shirt
He keeps his word
And for once you let go
Of your fears and your ghosts

you-are_in_love

Ah, that undeniable feeling of being in love. It’s throwing caution to the wind, choosing to accept the flaws and putting in the effort to make things work. For this one, I honestly had a hard time choosing a book character for this. “You Are In Love” is a sweet song (at least to my ears) about finally finding that person worth making all efforts and sacrifices, in spite of the past hurt and emotional baggage. I decided to choose a chick lit for this, one by Judith McNaught, called “Something Wonderful.” She’s my favorite romance novel author and this book is funny and heartwarming. I think the song is more for Jason, the love interest of the heroine in this book. He’s a guy loaded with issues and you can see how he slowly changed upon meeting Alex, the heroine. I know, I know. It’s practically a fairy tale but it’s a pretty good read to while away the time and forget the rest of the world.

I should just tell you to leave ’cause I
Know exactly where it leads but I
Watch us go ’round and ’round each time

four

You know that one guy your mom and dad and practically everyone you know warned you about? Did you even stay away from him? I thought so. Okay, so this one I’d have to say would be someone from “Divergent.” Four struck me as someone you should watch out for. He seemed too intense and dark and moody. Plus, all those fighting skills and cutting one-liners? SCARY. It would put off any woman who wants the easygoing, charming type.

Yes, you can speak up.

