Spot the Nut

words

This has to be my most fulfilling, satisfying weekend to date because, well, I just bought four new books from a book fair. Another way to describe my weekend was this: I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

After finally finishing the Mara Dyer trilogy, I immediately went ahead and played “Harvest Moon” on my phone. After all the madness and the action-packed scenes containing death and blood and confusion, I needed something CALM. And there is nothing more calming than milking a cow and shearing sheep fur in a farm at past four in the morning. (The animals are in the game; the four AM is the time I was playing it.)

Now that I have digested one of my favorite book trilogies (see my reaction on the “Allegiant” book here), it was time for me to start on something else. And so it was in the book fair that I bought these:

  1. Asylum – Madeleine Roux
  2. Sanctum – Madeleine Roux
  3. Catacomb – Madeleine Roux
  4. More Baths, Less Talking – Nick Hornby

I know. The last book up there is so different from the “Asylum” trilogy. I bought it because I do love it when other people who also love to read talk (or in this case, write) about their reading experiences. Plus, I have heard that Nick Hornby is funny. I know. I bought the book without doing my research. I have faith in Nick Hornby. *pause* And my gut feeling. Also, if you knew me, you’d know that my taste in books is eclectic at best and senseless at worst.

When it comes to choosing books to read, I have realized that my taste is not exactly… well, let’s just say I’m quite picky. I usually stick to horror but then I read “Divergent” and I loved it. So I thought yeah, I’d give the YA genre another try. And I did. I looked around, both online and in the bookstores, flipping through pages, only to find out in the end that nothing was working for me. I didn’t feel any connection with the books I have skimmed. Not “Red Queen”, not “The Hunger Games”, not “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.” Until. UNTIL I came across “Asylum.” I read its excerpts and that was when my blood started to rush through my veins and excitement built up and welled as I read it. In fact, the first few paragraphs were enough to make me want to bolt right then and there to grab a copy of the book. A dorm that used to be an asylum with a sketchy past. A copycat killer on the loose. Dead bodies found in terrifying positions. The protagonist’s back story is peeled back page by page. Ghosts — violent ones. Quirky, snarky yet lovable newfound friends. What isn’t there left to love about “Asylum”? So I read it. I read it and I loved it. Loved it enough to buy the next two books of the trilogy.

And so we come full circle to what I started when I posted this: The books I bought during the book fair over the weekend. Click on the links in that list, read the excerpts. Who knows? You might like those, too. And if you do, let me know. I’d love to hear about your thoughts on it. Now excuse me while I go sniffing the pages of these brand new books. I’ll be indulging on a book high.

excited6

* gif source here

2 thoughts on “Spot the Nut

Yes, you can speak up.

