A Commercial Break While I Sort Things Out

!

My phone is sporting a pineapple wallpaper and it makes me happy just by looking at it. (And I don’t even like the fruit. I’ll give you a second to let that irony sink in.)

Now that I have confessed that little bit and had gotten it off my chest — Okay, not so fast. There’s another thing I need to confess: I have finished the final book in the “Asylum” trilogy and the ending was… just… bland. It felt like it was lacking something. I didn’t hate it but I definitely didn’t love it. The first two books were awesome, though.

Today’s tangents will become tomorrow’s arcs, and unforeseen connections will tie up your loose ends in a way that will make you want to slap your head and holler at your accidental brilliance. ― Chris Baty

Accidental brilliance. I like the sound of that… Oh, you’re still here? *high five!* Okay, back to the main program:

NANOWRIMO

Last year, I joined and then fell short on words. Read: I bombed. This year, I still plan on joining. I wish I could promise that this time, I’ll get to that 50k mark. However, I don’t like declaring huge promises only to end up not doing it. It’s all or nothing, so nope. Let’s settle for “I’ll be joining this year.” and leave it at that for now, yes?

I have yet to think of the plot. What sort of evil monster should my protagonist face now? What quagmire has she gotten herself pulled into this time around? What kind of person will she be after everything that has happened? Don’t tell me writing is easy. Just… don’t.

“Here’s the first major lesson: Writing is not an activity. It’s not something you sit down at the keyboard, and just start doing. That’s called ‘typing.’ Typing is an activity … Writing is a process. And if you start thinking of it as a process, life gets so much easier.” ― Jeff Bollow

READING

I have just finished “Catacomb” and while I really, really loved the first two books, the last one left me feeling hollow and uninspired. The first half started out great but then during the last couple of chapters, I felt like the climax really didn’t hold the story together. It was not convincing enough when Dan found himself trapped and face-to-face with the killer. Also, I felt that the killer was not made evil enough.

“One of the ways that a writer heals an invisible wound is through book therapy.” ― Angelica Hopes

PLAYING

Guys and gals, please meet the gaming app which kept me awake for the past couple of days: “Fallout Shelter.” This is the reason (mostly) why I only had five, six hours of sleep recently.

“Whether you sniff it, smoke it, eat it, or shove it up your ass, the result is the same: addiction.” ― William S. Burroughs

LATEST ADDICTION

Please see previous item. I need say nothing more because — Oh, excuse me. My Dwellers are calling out to me. Gottagorunokaybye!

Yes, you can speak up.

