I Decided to Drop Out of NaNoWriMo (but…)

“Storms make treestake deeperROOTS.”

I really thought I could do it. Catch up on the word count that I have missed. I have been tossing around things in my head, mulling over them. And these things are not all about writing. Most of them are personal life choices. The thing is this: I am going through something right now. I am not ready to share the details but know this: While I truly wanted to finish that 50k word count for NaNoWriMo, I am just emotionally exhausted with what I have been going through the past few months. I have reached the point where I know that I need to focus on the issue at hand. I am still struggling to wrap my head around it and deal with it the best way I can. Before I end this blog post, let me say this to the other participants:

NaNoWriMo is almost finished. I know there are those who are finished by now. Well done! Congratulations! Please don’t edit just yet. Go to the nearest bar / coffeeshop / clothes store / whatever else floats your boat and celebrate by buying something for yourself. Better yet, gather round other participants and celebrate together!

For those who have yet to reach that 50k word count: You can do it! Don’t be disheartened. Remember your story. Listen to your characters whose tales all want to be told. It’s your job as a writer to put them on writing. Chase those words, wrestle with them, and write them down. In the end, you know you’ll be glad (more than glad, I think) you did that. Your passion in writing should keep you going. Best of luck!

4 thoughts on “I Decided to Drop Out of NaNoWriMo (but…)

  1. I totally hear ya with being emotionally drained…it’s super hard to write if life is being like that. And sometimes the writing just drains you even more right?!? We gotta look after ourselves too. *nods* Hopefully better luck next year, for you!?!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. “The writing drains you even more…” — You don’t know how relieved I am when you said that! I thought it was just me. Yes, next year should be different, in a good way. 🙂 Thank you for dropping by as well! ❤

      Like

Yes, you can speak up.

