No Title Yet. How Original.

NEVER LOSE YOURSELF

It is Monday afternoon. I sit in front of my work desk, put on my maroon hat/scarf thing, which is so weird because it’s really hot outside. But when I get inside our office, the air-con fan hits the top of my head like a heat-seeking missile. Hence, the hat/scarf thing. I have just come back from a four-day weekend and while the coffee is good today, I am still in a daze.

One event after another, I kid you not. I am almost afraid to find out what’s going to happen next. The good news (yay!) is that somewhere along the way, I have learned some life lessons. Most times I am the participant. Sometimes I observe. A few times I get sucked into other people’s dramas and that pretty much feels like someone showing up on your doorstep, inviting you to somewhere “wonderful.” And because you have nothing better to do, you eagerly go. Only to find yourself in the middle of a bonfire, wondering what the hell you’re doing as those around you sing along to “Kumbaya.” And you want to slip away and then run like mad, be as far away as possible, except… EXCEPT that they are keeping an eye on you. And they already know you in Facebook. They know what you post. Or at least, they think they know (but they really don’t so sshh…) and before you know it, BAM! Mountains out of molehills.

Now here are those aforementioned lessons. They are numbered but are not in any way in chronological order. (Did that make sense? *pause* Yeah, I thought so, too.)

#1: Be ye not stupid. Okay? Trust your instincts. Notice the little things. This applies to both people and circumstances.
#2: Shower. Shower is always a good thing, most especially during summer.
#3: When you’re feeling down, play something upbeat like “Cake by the Ocean” or “Dessert.” Yes, they are funny titles but the beat. Oh, the beat!
#4: You can’t have everything. You win some, you lose some.
#5: Learn to accept things you don’t really have control over.
#6: Family is always important. Always.
#7: Read and re-read books. They are good for the heart, mind and soul. (Until you get to “Allegiant”, then you’re broken. At least that’s how it was for me.)
#8: Keep your feet planted firmly on the ground. Reality chews and spits you out but at least the battle is half-won when you know what you’re up against.
#9: “Aim high, shoot low.” I have absolutely no idea what this means but it sounds too darn good to not include it here. Maybe you know what it means. In that case, please message me. Thanks.
#10: Laugh. Find the humor in situations. Laugh with loved ones. Take the time to be silly. It’s true when they say that laughter is the best medicine. It takes the edge off of things.


I am running out of the symbolic fuel and fire for now but I’ll be back. I have been re-watching “Playing It Cool” over and over and I do not know why. I have been told to watch another Chris Evans movie, “Before We Go.” I think I’ll do just that.

before_we_go_movie_quote

Yes, you can speak up.

