Life, Interrupted

So death comes as a reminder. It grabs us and shakes us, opens our eyes. And our focus is changed, revised.

Tuesday has come and gone. I have two blog posts ready for auto publishing but given the current circumstance, I didn’t have the heart to post those this week.

I want this blog to reflect my sentiments and (mis)adventures in a way that I usually tell my stories: light and funny. (Or at least I hope so.) But I want it to be real and honest, too. I have been writing as long as I can remember but words were never cheap with me, be it in conversations or in letters or this blog. I use words to convey what I feel, no more, no less. And so the same goes with this post.

I have deactivated my Facebook account for a (really) few days. I haven’t posted in Twitter and Instagram, either. I wish the reason was because I was busy with my four-day weekend but no. That’s not it. My dad just died last Sunday evening. I was the first one in the family to see him dead. It was tough then, it’s still tough now. I’m putting one foot in front of the other. Life is never the same after someone close to you passes away. I’m trying to pick up the pieces and start a new life, one where I will wake up and not see him at home. One where he isn’t around anymore. At least, not physically. It’s too early to say I’m okay right now. But I know I will be. I have to.

People have been wonderful, offering their support and sympathy. It makes me believe that there is always something good in everything, even death.

7 thoughts on “Life, Interrupted

Yes, you can speak up.

