A Funeral, A Mascot, and the Bathrobe Photo

SO HE COULD HAVE BEEN MY GOOD LUCK

MASCOT(noun) a person, animal, or object used as a symbol to represent a group (such as a sports team) and to bring good luck

The other Thursday and Friday were days that consisted of many emotions and occurrences. How odd is it that at one day, my dad was buried and then the next, I was getting hit on? By a mascot. I’ll give you a moment to let that sink in. Got hit on. By a mascot.

I had been laughing about that mascot bit then, and I am laughing about it now. There I was, sitting on one end of the resto bar’s table when the mascot appeared and started dancing. We all laughed, me and my family. Suddenly, the mascot grabbed my hand and pulled me to my feet. He gestured for me to dance with him. I was emotionally exhausted from what just happened that same week, but I could still appreciate how funny that moment was. The other waitresses and waiters were cheering us on. Even my family joined in on it. The mascot was still burning up the floor with his (admittedly good) dance moves. Heads from the other tables turned to look at us, I kid you not. I was laughing, the mascot still clutching my hand. In my head, I was thinking, “Gawd, why do things like this keep happening to me?” I always try to stick to the sidelines, practically kissing the figurative wall so that no one will take notice of me. But then something like that scene happens. It was funny, though. Laughing, I told the mascot that no, I am not going to dance. To which he responded by twerking. To which I responded by laughing even harder. A twerking mascot. Now that’s something you don’t see everyday. I finally sat down after that. I gobbled some of the food laid out on our table. Only to have the mascot back at our table again. And again. And again. I lost count of how many times he grabbed and held my hand as he danced. But I was impressed: He was never with the same dance move each time he stopped by. (My sister showed me a video of one of those moments. Let’s just say there is no way I am posting it in social media.)

My mother was like, “Well, maybe that’s the one. Your the one.” Yeah, sure. I can see clearly through his costume. (I know the mascot’s a male the whole time because earlier, my family made it a point to ask a waitress.) I can feel it in my bones that he and I will be in a twerking dance off until kingdom come. And guess what? I can get a matching costume! And when he held my hand, I felt a spark emanating through his costume’s fur. I’m telling you, guys. This is it. This is true love. *pause* You do know I was kidding about this whole thing, right? Although… my sister said she saw the mascot without the costume and that he was good-looking. I was like, “Where was I when he was no longer a mascot?!” She responded, “You were there, on the table. Eating without looking up, while he kept glancing down.” Oh. OH. Well, I’m sorry I wasn’t in the mood to scout around for good-looking guys who happen to pass by our table. I just buried my dad so that kind of puts things in perspective. But no worries, I’ll make sure to eat at Buffalo Wild Wings some time next month. HAHA.

At the hotel, our room number forgotten because I am awful at numbers:

Why is there no bathtub? I wanted to take a photo of myself, something similar to this:

chris)evans_bathtub_selfie

(Sidenote: I love the rom-com where that bathtub scene came from, “What’s Your Number?” Chris Evans’ character there was just annoyingly charming, funny, and lovable. Note to self: Watch this movie again.)

Let’s circle back to the no bathtub thing. No bathtub, no photo. Ah! But there’s the bathrobe! Like this:

chris_evans_bathrobe

(Chris Evans, I love you. You just get better with age, all six feet of you. And don’t get me started with those blue eyes.)

So no bathtub photo in the hotel but there was a bathrobe photo (somewhere in my Instagram account). Too bad Chris Evans wasn’t in the room. We could’ve totally done this shot and I wouldn’t even mind:

beforewego_hotel_room

Which reminds me… Oh, it’s totally tangent but guess what? 😀 I finally hoarded bought a few new books. One down and three? four? to go! I’m currently in the middle of “Manuscript Found in Accra” and just got started on “Welcome to Night Vale. The former is quite short but with such wise words. The latter is weird and captivating. I’m in love with its podcast, which started it all. Let’s see if the book, over all, will be as awesome as well.

A quick look at this year’s first quarter through quotes and lyrics, in chronological order (if you really know me, see if you can keep up):

I’m not upset that you lied to me, I’m upset that from now on I can’t believe you. – Friedrich Nietzsche

Here you are now, calling me up, but I don’t know what to say
I’ve been picking up the pieces of the mess you made
People like you always want back the love they pushed aside
But people like me are gone forever when you say goodbye
– Taylor Swift

“Just give her a kiss, wish her good luck, and thank her. Thank her for showing you that you can love more than one person in this life.” – Chris Evans, Before We Go movie

So death comes as a reminder. It grabs us and shakes us, opens our eyes. And our focus is changed, revised. – Chris Evans, Playing It Cool movie

Because we managed to keep our heart open, despite the pain. Because we realized that the person who left us did not take the sun with them or leave darkness in their place. – Paulo Coelho

… but people who love, expecting to be loved in return, are wasting their time… Love is an act of faith in another person, not an act of surrender. – Paulo Coelho

Love is kind… it is not self-seeking… it keeps no record of wrongs. It always protects.

I’m only one call away
I’ll be there to save the day
Superman got nothing on me
I’m only one call away
Call me, baby, if you need a friend…
– Charlie Puth

You keep his shirt
He keeps his word
And for once you let go
Of your fears and your ghosts
One step, not much
But it said enough
– Taylor Swift

One thought on “A Funeral, A Mascot, and the Bathrobe Photo

Yes, you can speak up.

