My World is Spinning Too Fast

A PRETTY RARE HAPPINESS

I’ll be hitting a pause in this blog for a couple of days. My mythical pet giraffe demands that I stop blathering here and focus on offline things, like writing, catching up with old friends and meeting new people. Plus, saving the world, one coffee cup at a time. It also said maybe I should lay off on social media for a bit, while I’m at it. I can probably give up Snapchat and Instagram, but Twitter? TWITTER? How dare you, mythical pet giraffe. Twitter is, like, my very own playground. I get a lot of entertainment and brain food there. IT’S SACRED.

Now let’s switch the channel. Turn the knob once, twice, thrice, and we arrive here:

Maybe two is better than one
But there’s so much time to figure out the rest of my life
And you’ve already got me coming undone

I don’t know what it is about him, exactly. Words don’t do justice when it comes to him. Maybe that’s why I can’t be clearer or more coherent about it. All I know is that whatever it is that he has going on, it’s the good kind. Good enough to make me feel better about myself. Good enough to make me see some of the things in life differently. Good enough to make me see that broken hearts don’t always mean the end. Good enough to see the good in him. THANK YOU.

Take my hand, let’s see where we wake up tomorrow
Best laid plans sometimes are just a one night stand
I’ll be damned, Cupid’s demanding back his arrow

It’s too bad I had the timing wrong. Or maybe I didn’t know. Maybe I never knew what to do with you, until it was too late. All right, Cupid, here’s your arrow. You wanted it back, right? Go on. Consider it relinquished.

We were built to fall apart
Then fall back together…
Baby, like we stood a chance
Two paper airplanes flying, flying, flying

I have never been the best at thinking before delving into romantic relationships. I do have an amazing talent in looking around and then zeroing in on that one guy among the crowd. You know the type: That one guy who I know will be bad for me. Most times, I knew that from the start. One time, I didn’t even see it coming. (Yeah, it’s this ex.) In hindsight, it was foolish and reckless of me to just jump into a relationship, caution be damned.

“Woe is me.”
If we’re not careful turns into reality

The good news is that after everything, I think I have finally learned my lessons. You know what they say about history repeating itself because you are doing the same wrong things? Yeah, EXACTLY. *high-five* I think I’ll stop falling for guys who are wrong for me. And I emphasize on “wrong for me” because for all I know, he’d be a great boyfriend to his next girl. It just so happens we weren’t a good match, after all. And it’ll be the same for me. I’ll be a better person, a better girlfriend for the next guy. In line with being careful with how you think, this is also true:

Watch your thoughts. They become words. Watch your words. They become deeds. Watch your deeds. They become habits. Watch your habits. They become character. Character is everything.

Now, while I’m pausing this blog here in order to catch my breath and wrap my head around a couple of things, let me leave you with this gif. May this tide you over the next couple of days as I become silent. 😀 Have fun but don’t do anything I wouldn’t do! 😉

BPalvin_flying_kiss_02

2 thoughts on “My World is Spinning Too Fast

Yes, you can speak up.

