The Five Books I’ll Re-read Over and Over Again

PORTABLE MAGIC

I love reading but sometimes, my budget just doesn’t cut it. I mean, I only have to step inside a bookstore and I’ll come out of it wanting to buy 75939076 books. But one look at my wallet and I can only bite my knuckles to stop myself from sobbing out loud. All those books that I wanted right then and there but can’t have! I once bought about five books in one go and I had to reduce myself to having crackers and water for lunch.

I’m kidding about the crackers and water part, but not not the one about wanting to buy 75939076 books all at once. Which makes me wonder: Even though I can book shop ’til I drop, there are still books in my collection that I tend to go back to time and again. It’s not so different from going back to that one guy who you know is bad for you but you’re stupid and emotional and did I say stupid? So you keep coming back. Except that with books, it’s healthier. I mean, sure the ending of “Allegiant” doesn’t change and it still tears me up inside each time I read it, but re-reading it doesn’t make you stupid. Just emotional. And scarred for life.

If I ever get stuck in an island or a cave and I only get to bring five books with me, I’ll definitely be taking these:

“The Shining”

The_Shining_white_cover

Hands down, this is my favorite book. The horror in this one is multiple, from escalating anxiety and panic about a seemingly trivial thing to personal issues with one’s father or spouse right down to the basic horror ingredient of being trapped in a haunted hotel. And if you tell me that a five year-old kid who sees ghosts and that they are attracted to him in the most evil way possible is not creepy and scary and horrifying, then please tell me what your secret to courage is.

“Sharp Objects”

sharp_objects_razor_cover

It’s a whole new level of horror when you find out that the people you call your family are the ones keeping dark and deadly secrets. Ones that could possibly be linked to the series of deaths of little girls. I love how flawed the main character is and how twisted the story is. This book just has its own dark yet fascinating pull. One that I keep coming back to.

Harry Potter series

HP_Book_2

What’s not to love about this book that you won’t read it again and again? It’s Harry Potter! Admittedly, I read this years after its popularity but I’m glad I still managed to get started on it. It’s one of my feel-good books. I especially love “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.” Without a doubt, all of the books in the series is magical and delightful and beautiful. I can never be too old to go back to reading it months or years from now.

“By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept”

By_the_River_Piedra_book_cover

It’s a love story but it’s not like all the other romance books I have read. This book has so many beautiful things to say about love and forgiveness that tugs at my cold, cold heart. It’s about falling in love, being in love, losing the on you love, trying to forget and move on, only to come back to where it started. And eventually finding love again. Here’s a taste of how love is depicted in this book:

For years, I had fought against my heart, because I was afraid of sadness, suffering, and abandonment. But now I knew that true love was above all that and that it would be better to die than to fail to love.

I had thought that only others had the courage to love. But now I discovered that I too was capable of loving. Even if loving meant leaving, or solitude, or sorrow, love was worth every penny of its price.

Neverwhere

neverwhere_book_cover

I think this was the first Neil Gaiman novel I have read. No regrets. I was utterly hooked. When I read the first few paragraphs, I knew I would buy it. Set in London but with a London Below it, where train stations are actually kingdoms ruled by a leader. Throw in an evil duo, Croup and Vandemar, who are hell bent on going after the heroine of the story, a girl named Door whose family was murdered. Door finds herself in London Above, where your average guy, Richard Mayhew, stumbles upon her and help her. Little did he know that by doing so, he would find himself going to places and meeting people and creatures he never thought possible.


I could go on and on about all the books I can re-read forever, but let’s be honest: That will be way too lengthy of a blog post. You have things to do, places and people to see. I have an unruly hair to tame and a couple ofΒ “Supernatural” episodes (season 11, if you care enough to know) to watch. So let’s settle for five books, yes?

deaN-funny

6 thoughts on “The Five Books I’ll Re-read Over and Over Again

  1. I love re-reading books. Sometimes you notice something you didn’t pick up on the first time. A few books I can read over and over are the Jurassic Park novels and the Hannibal series!

    Like

    1. Yes! Don’t you just love it when something catches your attention the next time you read the book? Or how your perception of an event of a character changes? Oohh… I haven’t read “Jurassic Park” and “Hannibal” books. Maybe it’s time to do so? πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. “Harry Potter” series is just awesome each time you read them. It never gets old. πŸ˜€ Oh, you should definitely try reading “The Shining” if you love horror. And also “Sharp Objects” if you like twisted mysteries. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Yes, you can speak up.

