ALT: Rainy Seasons Specials

RANDOM THOUGHTS ON A RAINY NIGHT

It’s about 7 PM and I am on my way to the office. I am late, my feet are wet from the rain, and my brain just won’t shut up. Do you ever have that moment? You just want some peace and quiet. You just want to savor those few minutes you have before the work week starts. Only to find out that your brain just can’t stop yapping. And you are forced to endure it because what are you going to do about it? Dance around your own thoughts? Divert your attention to your wet feet or even wetter umbrella sitting there on the car floor beside your wet feet? Ignore your own thoughts?

dean_what

I did nothing of those options. Instead, I sat back and enjoyed the not-so-long commute to work. And then indulged myself to those thoughts, which I now dub as “rainy season specials.” I’m not gonna lie: Most of them are rubbish. Good for nothing musings such as “I should’ve bought a pair of boots for this kind of weather.” and “What if I just called in sick and stayed at home?” But the good news is that out of all that pile of nonsense, I managed to recall a few things. Now lo and behold, those thoughts that I actually managed to remember hours after they collided with my brain:

COFFEE!! MOARRRR COFFEE!!

It’s raining and I’m running late. I have no time to swing by Starbucks tonight. Where to get good coffee? Problem solved by buying two packets of instant coffee. Note to self: Bring the French press next time.

OF PLANS AND NON-PLANS

I promised myself I would jog around my place come Sunday afternoon. Thank God that this was decided for me by bringing forth thunder and rain that day. What can I say? You can’t fight Fate, guys. You just can’t. (I spent that day binge-watching while shoving junk food inside my mouth instead. Sshhh.)

PICKY PIPER PICKED NO GUY EVER

“You’re STILL single?” When that question flies out of someone’s mouth, I will neither nod nor shake my head. I will instead stare into his / her eyes, lips pursed, until one of us is uncomfortable enough to break the silence with a fake polite cough. Or maybe get saved by the notification sound of a Facebook message.

SHOULD I CONTINUE OR MAYBE THIS IS FATE TALKING?

Remember this book I was talking about? It got destroyed. Not on purpose. We had to throw it out. (Please don’t ask what happened to it. It is something I wish to swipe left with my mind.) Now I’m thinking if I should buy the book again and continue reading the series or pick up a completely new book / series. Such difficult decisions to make, guys. The struggle is real.

IS IT TIME TO COOL IT OFF WITH FACEBOOK AGAIN?

I deactivated my Facebook account for more than a month in the past. During that time, I honestly did not miss it much. Truth be told, Twitter is my favorite social media platform. I love seeing the brief streams of information and thoughts and ideas. I learn so much from it in a fun way. But Facebook? To be honest, I stick with mainly because my friends are there. It’s their means of communication. But it doesn’t do anything for me anymore. Not at this point. We’ll see how this goes.

IS IT TIME TO CREATE AN AUTHOR PAGE????

Sometimes I feel like I should create a completely different website that is dedicated to this story I have finished. And then throw in a couple of my other written pieces. When I do think about it, I get excited about planning the design of the website, the flow of the content, and even infusing it in my Tiny Letter newsletter. And that brings me to this musing…

IS IT TIME TO BUY A NEW WEBSITE????

I have been wanting to build a website for Foxes & Fangs. I’ve turned that idea around and around my head for the longest time. But then other things happen. Wonderful things, shitty things, beautiful things, not shiny things. And , well, here I am. Still just thinking about it.

THE NEVER-ENDING STORY THAT I NEVER EVER GET TIRED OF

I have just finished watching all of season 11 of “Supernatural.” I was bracing myself for another sob fest over its ending. Surprise, surprise! It wasn’t as heart-wrenching as season 10. Instead, it was a real cliffhanger. Did Sam get shot by that mysterious British woman? And was Mary really resurrected? Oh boy, oh boy, OH BOY. What am I going to do now with that particular void in my life that was dedicated solely to watching “Supernatural”?

dean_point_finger_then_wink

Yes, you can speak up.

