It’s Been Quite Some Time

hello-again-world

The days are colder and nights are shorter. I don’t know about you but that’s a good thing for me. I have been reading samples of books lately, all thanks to Kindle. Now, I’m a paperback kind of girl. (Yes, that also means I’d choose that over hardcover.) Then again, there’s something good about having something to read in my mobile device while on commute or someplace else and I am not in the mood to scribble something down on my white pocket notebook. (And yes, I do prefer writing thoughts and ideas with pen and paper instead of a tablet or a laptop.) And with sampling those books… Well… Have you ever read — scanned, really — a snippet of a book? A paragraph or two in different pages. You do that and you feel… nothing. The words don’t jump out and grab you. They don’t resonate within you, either. It tastes bland and has no effect. By saying that, I have only chosen a few of those books to share with you because they have done to me exactly that: Jumped out at me with their (few) words and resonated something beautiful, if not haunting and compelling. I am eager to purchase the books as soon as my budget allows. (Writers are poor, haven’t you heard? Hungry are our pockets. Haha.)

Heads up, folks: The four books are horror. But they’re fun to read, honest! I mean, if you could get past reading Stephen King novels in the middle of the night, all alone, then you’ll definitely be able to read these. And have fun while doing so. 🙂

The Turn of the Screw | Henry James

Originally published in 1898, it is ostensibly a ghost story that has lent itself well to operatic and film adaptation. Due to its ambiguous content and narrative skill, The Turn of the Screw became a favorite text of New Criticism. The account has lent itself to dozens of different interpretations, often mutually exclusive, including those of a Freudian nature. Many critics have tried to determine what exactly the nature of evil within the story is.

the_turn_of_the_screw

Apartment 16 | Adam Nevill

In Barrington House, an upmarket block in London, there is an empty apartment. No one goes in, no one comes out. And it has been that way for fifty years. Until the night watchman hears a disturbance after midnight and investigates. What he experiences is enough to change his life forever…

apartment_16

A Head Full of Ghosts | Paul Tremblay

A chilling thriller that brilliantly blends psychological suspense and supernatural horror, reminiscent of Stephen King’s The Shining, Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, and William Peter Blatty’s The Exorcist.

The lives of the Barretts, a normal suburban New England family, are torn apart when fourteen-year-old Marjorie begins to display signs of acute schizophrenia.

a_head_full_of_ghosts

Cemetery Tours | Jacqueline E. Smith

Some secrets are best kept laid to rest.

At least, that’s as far as Michael Sinclair is concerned. At twenty-seven, he has spent his entire life pretending that the ghosts he encounters on a daily basis do not exist. Now, if only the dead would let him rest in peace.

cemetery_tours


I know I mostly mention horror books here. I do read others, like the Tuesday Next noevls and anything by Jasper Fforde. The world there is just crazy and interesting. Always a treat to open any of his books and get lost in it. Then if I want to read some romance, I definitely pick up ones by Judith McNaught. I’m not really into self-help books, though. I do love a good suspense-thriller or mystery, like Preston and Child’s books on FBI Agent Pendergast, like “The Wheel of Darkness” and “The Cabinet of Curiosities.” Those two books are SO. GOOD. I didn’t just read them. I devoured the story. Couldn’t even put them down for a second.

I have been falling behind on reading. It’s not like I have set a goal on how many books I should read but it feels like I have been reading less and less. And it’s not a good feeling. So here’s to hoping that these new books will interest me enough to get started on my momentum in going back to devouring and digesting stories.

sam_ugly_crying

Yes, you can speak up.

