Something new: A cover reveal, “The Precious Ruby:

the_precious_ruby_book_cover_01

Confession time, folks: Aside from horror genre, I read romance novels from time to time. I didn’t want to throw that little detail around, dreading that moment when some of you might see that heart peeking out from under the sleeve of my slate gray sweater. You know, the one that screams “I love you 4ever” right there on the middle. I’d have to admit, my favorite romance novels are the ones written by Judith McNaught. Her heroines are always spunky. Fiery. Witty. I love it when female lead characters are strong and resilient. I also have a weakness for females who wrestle with their personal demons. And yes, even the “hot mess” types. I love it when they overcome their issues and past in ways that aren’t easy and yet — AND YET — they refuse to succumb to the pain and anger and hurt. I love their turning points, when they finally say they’ve had enough and heaven and hell be damned, they’ll do the right thing this time, even if the right thing isn’t always easy. And that’s what “The Precious Ruby” seems to promise me.

Here is what this book is about:

At twenty-five, Louise Carter has lived a life beyond her years; she has endured emotional and physical abuse and has now found the courage to leave her biker ex-boyfriend.

When Louise moves back into town and in with her best friend, all aspects of her life start to fall into place until something unexpected happens … she meets Alex, a rich playboy and known womanizer.

Alex wonders whether he has met Louise previously as she piques his interest in ways no other woman has before…

Will Louise fall for his fake personality, or will she have time to fall for the real one?

A girl running away from her past, only to find herself running right into the type of man she knows she shouldn’t get involved with. That is just so confusing yet tempting in so many levels. Here is an excerpt from the book:

Just as the minutes tick by I go from yes, I will go with Jax, to no because I can’t keep running.

There is about twenty minutes left before Jax needs the answer and my phone buzzes.
I jump back, on edge.

I look at the caller ID and it’s Alex.

Jesus, does this guy ever stop? I can’t talk to him now. I have to keep him safe too, even though he doesn’t deserve it after the stunt he pulled last night.  I can’t keep ignoring him, I have to face my fears and tell him goodbye. Then that’s when it hits, I have to go back to Matt and face whatever he has in mind for my punishment.

I reach over and place the phone to my ear. “Hello, this is Louise.” I’m putting on a brave act, hopefully he doesn’t see straight through it.

“Hey Louise, it’s so good to hear your voice,” he breathes through the other end of the phone, like he can finally breathe again.

“Ah, yeah, so why … um… did you call me after what you pulled last night?” I wait for his answer, taking him longer than usual.

“Right, well about that, I don’t know. I know I fucked up, no pun intended, but I didn’t mean to hurt you.” He chuckles at his joke.

“Seriously, this is how you are going to act, after everything? Look, I know nothing has happened between us, but maybe I had a little hope, knowing your reputation around town, but after last night, you can forget it. Just as well, I’m leaving town. You won’t hear from or see me again. I hope you’re happy.” Before I give him a chance to reply, I hang up the phone. I’m fuming, so angry at the events that have taken place tonight, the only option I have is to go back to Matt. I bring up the new contact that Jax gave me and send a text saying:

Hey, I can’t. I know I have to go back and I will.
Stay safe.
L xo


If you’re interested to learn more about “The Precious Ruby”, here is something about C. Renee, the author:

C.Renee is a new author to town; she is Australian born and bred. She loves writing and reading romance novels. When she doesn’t have her head in the books, it’s spent with her boyfriend. She hopes to inspire her readers and to travel the world.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCRenee/
Instagram: @author_crenee
Twitter: @authorcrenee

Release date is on January 10, 2017.

the_precious_ruby_book_cover_02

Yes, you can speak up.

